In recent years, there has been an increasing trend that has seen advisory firms outsourcing their investment capability. This has been a natural response to the RDR, which has increased regulation and encouraged greater focus on profitability. Advisers are often concerned about the implications on justifying their fee once the decision to outsource to an investment partner has been taken.

GAM’s view is that value and cost are different things. They will be hosting a BrightTALK webcast on 29 June 2016 at 10.30 am, when Douglas Branson, Head of UK Regional Distribution, will talk through some points on how to articulate this to clients:

» Outsourcing is an investment decision – you need to learn about and be comfortable with your chosen investment partner’s views, style and philosophy.

» The investment solution you recommend to your clients is only one part of the financial plan that you advise your clients on; don’t sell yourself short!

» With clients finding value in things that you take for granted, it is important to focus on more than just making holistic financial advice “cheap”.

We hope this is of interest and if so, please register here for the webcast (if you aren’t already a BrightTALK user, you will need to sign-up). If you are unable to participate on the day, you can use the same link to listen to the webcast recording at a more convenient time.


You can find out more about GAM by visiting their dedicated page on the DISCUS website, or by contacting a member of the team using the details below.

 

Douglas Branson
Head of UK Regional Distribution
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8815
e. douglas.branson@gam.com
Sean Cooney
Client Manager
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8818
e. sean.cooney@gam.com
Duane Hasnip
Client Manager
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8754
e. duane.hasnip@gam.com
Emma Howard
Client Manager
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8834
e. emma.howard@gam.com
Freddie Streeter
Client Manager
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8721
e. freddie.streeter@gam.com
Tony Morton
Client Manager
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8828
e. tony.morton@gam.com
Zoë Black
Client Executive
t. +44 (0) 20 7393 8727
e. zoe.black@gam.com